List of Works » Orchestral » Fanfarrón

Fanfarrón by DAVID BRUCE


Commissioned by the San Diego Symphony Board of Directors in honor of Jahja Ling, with deep respect and appreciation for his legacy as Music Director of the San Diego Symphony Orchestra.

Fanfarrón is a short, joyful, up-tempo fanfare for Symphony Orchestra. The Spanish title is said to be the origin of the word 'fanfare' and translates roughly as 'loud-mouth' or 'show-off' - the piece is designed to show off the orchestra and provide a jubilant burst of brass-dominated energy.

Press / Latest Reviews


for Symphony Orchestra

3fl(2piccs), 3ob, 3cl, 3Bsn, 3Trp, 4Hn, 3Tb, 4Perc, Timp, Strings
Reduced version: Picc Fl 222 2210 T P(2-3) Strings

Duration 3 mins
Composed Mar-Apr 2017
First performance 28 May 2017
Commissioned by San Diego Symphony Board of Directors

Past Performances

  • Oct 1 2019
    10 performances, Various LA Schools (Colburn School Orchestra, cond. Angus Webster)

Related Posts

 • New Fanfarron video (3/14/2020)
 • New piece for San Diego Symphony (6/9/2017)


Leave a Reply

Recent news items

Most popular posts

All works are available through

© 2023 David Bruce